Governors

Our school governors play a vital role in ensuring that pupils receive a high quality education and by supporting the leadership team in planning for future development and improvement.

'We are a group of people with a variety of skills dedicated to supporting the headteacher and staff and to ensure that children receive the best education possible at Wellstead Primary School.

Responsible for making sure that the school is well managed and that it is a safe place for everyone. We oversee the curriculum and the finances in two separate committees and meet six times a year as a Full Governing Body.

Meetings consist of reports from the headteacher and staff which keep us up to date with events as well as policy reviews and discussions on educational matters.

Being a governor of this school is very rewarding and we do sometimes have vacancies for people with the required skills to join us. Application details can be found on the Hampshire Education website.

The governing body is made up of:

  • Two parent governors.
  • One local authority governor.
  • One headteacher.
  • Two staff governors.
  • Eight co-opted governors.

The Chair of our governing body is Rev. Fiona Gibbs, other current governing body members and their allocated subject links are as follows:

Rev. Fiona Gibbs  Danielle De Sousa Laura Pearce Paul Laughlin
 RevFionaGibbsMay17 ComingSoon LauraClarkeMay17 ComingSoon

ChairLA Governor

Learning Committee

Vice Chair & Co-opted Governor

Learning Committee

 Safeguarding Governor

Parent Governor

Resources Committee

SEN Governor 

Parent Govenor

Resources Committee

 

Sarah James Luke Shearing Calum Drummond Alex Blake 
 SarahJamesMay17 LukeShearingMay17-2   Calum-DrummondMay17 AlexBlakeMay17 

Co-opted Governor

Resources Committee

Co-opted Governor

Resources Committee

Co-opted Governor

Learning Committee

Co-opted Governor

Learning Committee

Health & Safety Governor

Matthew Robinson Emma Street  Tina Clark  
MatthewRobinsonFeb16 ComingSoon ComingSoon  

Headteacher

Staff Governor

Staff Governor

 

All of the above can be contacted through the school via our Business Manager, Mrs Tina Clark in the school office.

Governor Meeting dates for 2019-2020:

Autumn Term 2019  
Tuesday 8th October 2019 Resource Committee
Wednesday 16th October 2019 Learning Committee
Wednesday 23rd October 2019 Full Governing Body
Wednesday 13th November 2019 Learning Committee
Tuesday 26th November 2019 Resource Committee
Wednesday 11th December 2019 Full Governing Body
   
Spring Term 2020  
Wednesday 29th January 2020 Learning Committee
Wednesday 12th February 2020 Full Governing Body
Wednesday 11th March 2020 Learning Committee
Tuesday 17th March 2020 Resource Committee
Wednesday 25th March 2020 Full Governing Body
   
Summer Term 2020  
Tuesday 5th May 2020 Resource Committee
Wednesday 20th May 2020 Full Governing Body
Wednesday 17th June 2020 Learning Committee
Tuesday 30th June 2020 Resource Committee
Wednesday 15th July 2020 Full Governing Body