Welcome to the curriculum section of the website. 

We have now adopted the new national curriculum. The programmes of study within the new National Curriculum (NC) set out expectations at the end of each key stage and all maintained schools are free to develop a curriculum relevant to their pupils that teaches this content.

As part of our reforms to the National Curriculum, the current system of ‘levels’ used to report children’s attainment and progress have been removed and have not been replaced.

By removing ‘levels’ this allows teachers greater flexibility in the way that they plan and assess pupils’ learning.

At Wellstead Primary, we have developed our own assessment system that is based on the National Curriculum end of year expectations. They work on a series of developmental bands from the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) to Year 6.

 Here you are able to download the 2018-2019 Yearly Curriculum Overview for each year group:

 Year 1 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019  Year 4 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019
 Year 2 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019  Year 5 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019
 Year 3 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019  Year 6 - Yearly Curriculum Overview 2018-2019

Under each year group page you will find relevant information relating to Project work and the following:


Here you can find examples of the Year 1 Phonics Screening Check

At Wellstead Primary School we use the Letters and Sounds Phonics Programme for all of our phonics teaching.  


Letters and Sounds is a phonics resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children's speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children starting by the age of five, with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.

There are six overlapping phases. The table below is a summary based on the Letters and Sounds guidance for Practioners and Teachers. For more detailed information, visit the Letters and Sounds website.

Phase Year  Group Phonic Knowledge & Skills
Phase One
Nursery/Reception  Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.
Phase Two  Reception Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.

Phase Three 

Reception The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the "simple code", i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.
Phase Four 
Reception No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segent longer words with adjacet consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Phase Five 
Year 1 Now we move on to the "complex code". Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.

Visit the Department for Education and Skills website to view the 'Letters and Sounds - Principles and Practice of High Quality Phonics' documentation.


PhonicsBugClubLogoWe support our teaching of phonics with bug club teaching tools, reading books and phonics e-books to give your children a firm, fun foundation in phonics with a complete phonics programme that's proven to raise reading standards. KS1 children have a unique log in code to allow them to enjoy reading and collecting bug club points. Visit the Bug Club website to find out more.

At the end of year 1 all children will sit a phonics screening test. You can access some sample papers at the links below:


At Wellstead we use the series of 'Oxford Reading Tree' books to support reading. Biff, Chip and Kipper are loved by millions of children and are frequently ranked in the top ten of children's favourite characters.

Created by Roderick Hunt and Alex Brychta, these stories are guaranteed to hook your children into reading as they follow Biff, Chip and Kipper on their magical adventures. Not only that, they are perfectly matched to the new National Curriculum too!


  • Packed full of humour, drama, detailed illustrations and endearing characters to motivate every child
  • Perfect for the new National Curriculum
  • Carefully levelled to make sure every child makes real progress with their reading
  • Packed full of support, including revised notes to help with reading at home

Take a look for yourself at these links...

Once our children are confident with ORT characters and are able to sound and blend cvc words and recognise some high frequency words, they are moved onto coloured book banding books. This is to allow us to intersperse our main reading scheme with other schemes for breadth and variety.

These are banded using HIAS English Team Book Banding Guidance March 2016

Organising books in a gradient of challenge enables us to select texts to cater for the range of attainments within a class.
Colour book bands provide a structure within a range of fiction and non-fiction titles from different reading series ...this enables teachers to offer children a rich and varied experience of successful text reading (taken from 'Which Books and Why: Using Book Bands and book levels for guided reading in Key Stage 1')
Children are routinely book band tested each half term or before, if appropriate, to ensure that they are reading at the correct level. Book band tests look at decoding skills and comprehension skills and allow the teacher to assess what strategies the children are applying independently. 
Why not take a look at the 2019-2020 School Library Service Recommended Reads!


Throughout Wellstead we teach spellings in line with the new National Curriculum, please read either the KS1, KS2 or Year 6 letter relating to how this has been introduced, via these links:

Other useful documents relating to Spellings for each year group can be found here:


Here you can find the English Overviews for every year group. This shows you the end of year english expectations, including reading, writing and spelling. It also includes grammar and punctuation for year 5 and 6 in line with the new National Curriculum.


On each years website page you will be able to find the end of year expectations in line with the Statutory Requirements for Programmes of Study.

Click this link for a whole school version: Maths New Curriculum Whole School 

You will also be able to see the below documents that highlight the end of year expectaions in maths, for each year group in more detail. 

(please click image to enlarge)









 Religious Education 

At Wellstead, Religious Education is taught in accordance with the legal requirements of the Education Act and the 2016 agreed syllabus for Hampshire, known as 'Living Difference III'

Children encounter simple concepts which are particularly appropriate for each stage in their learning. Wherever possible we use first hand experience as a stimulus for learning. We encourage children to question stories, practices and beliefs and form opinions about them.

Our 'Religious Education Policy' can be read here.